How To Totally Surrender Your Life to God

I was doing my devotionals this morning when this topic came up. I figure it’s God’s way of telling me that even some of my best made plans are still subject to his will and purpose for my life. It made such an impression on me that I wanted to share it with you.

Rick Warren, pastor of Saddleback Church and author of “The Purpose Driven Life”, says this:

“Surrendering your life means: 1) Following God’s lead without knowing where he’s sending you; 2) Waiting for God’s timeing without knowing when it will come; 3) Expecting a miracle without knowing how God will provide; 4) Trusting God’s purpose without understanding the circumstances.”

I’m a major planner. Just like some of you, I use the beginning of the year to rise above the clouds and take in a view of my life from a larger scope. I reflect on what happened last year, take stock of my victories and losses, and look to the future and where I’d like to be.

One of the most common hinderances of achieving your goals is giving up too soon. But if you know that God was in your planning, you can know that he will bring it to pass, regardless of whether you made it by your deadline.

Trust me, he can make things happen in an instant. I’d hate to think of how many times I missed a great blessing by giving up too soon.

There are times that your’e going to feel like giving up; times that you don’t think you’re seeing the results you want to see. Just remember that you don’t belong to yourself. Your life was given to the one who can handle any challenge, who isn’t pressed for time, and who already knows what strategy to use.

So relax…take a moment to pray and thank God for all he has done and is continuing to do in your life. Let him know that you really do trust him and will continue to trust him until you see it happen.

Just to drive your stake into the ground, please share with us what you’re trusting God for this year. We can pray for strength for each other.

About Chris Stevens

I'm an Elementary Principal, husband, father of three, and an imperfect follower of Christ. I have eight years experience at the Jr-Sr High level and 14 years experience speaking at various churches.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How To Totally Surrender Your Life to God

  1. imconfident says:

    I’m trusting God to give me the wisdom and the resources to help me positively impact the lives of the women in my small group, the participants in my coaching and workshops and anyone else I meet in the community.

  2. georgeenmu says:

    I love words and English and I’m trusting God with the songs I’m writing and my desire to start an online magazine with other Christian students.

  3. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.
    cords for beats by dr dre http://www.religionandnature.com/beats/cords-for-beats-by-dr-dre.html

Leave a Reply

